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Cannabis Sales – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 

Adult-Use Cannabis and Medical Cannabis Dispensaries 

1. What is an adult-use cannabis establishment? 

"Adult-use cannabis establishment" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS Chapter 678A and means 

an adult-use cannabis independent testing laboratory, an adult-use cannabis cultivation 

establishment, an adult-use cannabis production establishment, an adult-use cannabis retail store, 

or an adult-use cannabis distributor. 

2. Who can sell adult-use (recreational) cannabis to a consumer?  

Only those licensed as an adult-use cannabis retail store may sell adult-use cannabis to a 

consumer. 

3. Who can purchase adult-use cannabis?  

In order to purchase adult-use cannabis, you must be at least 21 years old and possess a valid 

government-issued identification.  

4. What is a medical cannabis establishment? 

"Medical cannabis establishment" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS Chapter 678A and means a 

medical cannabis independent testing laboratory, a medical cannabis cultivation facility, a medical 

cannabis production facility, or a medical cannabis dispensary. 

5. Who can sell medical cannabis?  

Only those licensed as a medical cannabis dispensary can sell medical cannabis. 

6. Who can a medical cannabis dispensary sell to? 

A medical cannabis dispensary may sell medical cannabis to anyone holding a valid registry 

identification card, a designated primary caregiver, or to another medical cannabis dispensary. 

 7. Where can I purchase cannabis if I don't have a medical registration identification card?  

If you are at least 21 years old and have valid government-issued identification you may 

purchase cannabis from any licensed adult-use cannabis retail store in Nevada.   

8. May I request a private consultation so I can ask questions and obtain information about the 

products?   

Yes, a medical cannabis dispensary will have a private room available for any patient who 

requests the use of such a room. 

9. How much adult-use cannabis can I purchase or possess at one time?  

The maximum amount that a person can purchase or possess at one time is one (1) ounce of 

cannabis or one-eighth (1/8) of an ounce of concentrated cannabis.   
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10. Now that adult-use cannabis is legal, can I consume cannabis anywhere?  

Cannabis cannot be consumed or smoked in any public place, including parks, sporting events, 

moving vehicles, casinos, hotels, concerts, festivals, cannabis facilities, or while you’re walking 

down the street. People are not permitted to smoke or consume cannabis in federally subsidized 

housing, or on any federally owned land in the State of Nevada.  

 11. Can I sell cannabis that I purchased from an adult-use cannabis store?  

No, it is illegal to sell cannabis to another person. Only licensed adult-use cannabis stores may 

sell adult-use cannabis to persons that are at least 21 years old.   

 12. Can I grow cannabis at home?  

You cannot grow your own cannabis at home if you live within 25 miles of an adult-use cannabis 

store (unless you are a medical cannabis cardholder – those rules are different). 

 13. Can I travel to another state with cannabis?  

No. Cannabis is still an illegal drug under federal law and transportation of cannabis or cannabis 

products across state lines is illegal.   

  

Cultivation / Production / Testing Establishments  

1. If I am already licensed as a medical cultivation establishment or a medical cannabis 
production establishment do I have to apply for a state and local license for adult-use 
cultivation or production?  

Yes. You must apply for and obtain a state license and a local business license in order to 

cultivate adult-use cannabis or produce adult-use cannabis products.  

2. If I am already licensed as a medical testing laboratory do I have to apply for a state and local 

license for adult-use testing establishment?  

Yes. You must apply for and obtain a state license and a local business license in order to provide 

testing services for adult-use cannabis or adult-use cannabis products. 

3. If I am a production or cultivation establishment based outside the city of Las Vegas 

jurisdiction, do I need a city license? 

All production and cultivation establishments who sell their product to any cannabis 

establishments based in the city of Las Vegas must be licensed with our jurisdiction, their primary 

licensing local jurisdiction and the state. 
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Transporting/Delivery of Cannabis 

1. Can I transport or deliver cannabis or cannabis products to other cannabis establishments?  

A cultivation establishment may transport cannabis to another cultivation establishment, to a 

production establishment or to a testing establishment, but not to an adult-use cannabis store. A 

production establishment may transport cannabis to or from a cultivation establishment, another 

product manufacturing establishment or a testing establishment, but not to an adult-use 

cannabis store. A testing establishment may transport adult-use cannabis and cannabis products 

to or from any adult-use cannabis establishment. However, only a licensed cannabis distributor 

may transport cannabis or cannabis products to an adult-use cannabis store for sale.  

2. Can a Testing establishment transport or deliver cannabis or cannabis products to other 

cannabis establishments?  

Yes, a testing establishment may transport cannabis or cannabis products to any cannabis 

establishment from any other cannabis establishment.    

3. Can I transport cannabis or cannabis products from a cultivation establishment or a 

production establishment to my adult-use cannabis store?  

No. Only a licensed cannabis distributor may transport cannabis or cannabis products from a 

cultivation establishment or a production establishment to an adult-use cannabis store (even if 

the facilities are located at the same address).  

 4. Can I deliver cannabis or cannabis products to a customer at their residence or hotel room?  

You may deliver cannabis and cannabis products to a customer at a residence as long as you 

comply with the provisions in LVMC 6.95.     

 

Cannabis Distributor  

 1. As a Cannabis Distributor can I transport or deliver cannabis or cannabis products to 
customers?  

No, a cannabis distributor may only transport cannabis or cannabis products between licensed 

cannabis establishments. 

2. Do I need a cannabis distribution license to transport product from a cultivation or 

production establishment to a medical dispensary or adult-use cannabis retail store? 

Yes. Even if the owners are the same between establishments, a distribution license is required 

to transport the production from a production or cultivation establishment to a medical 

dispensary or adult-use cannabis retail store.  
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